Sunday, June 27, 2010

Editing layered content

You can select or copy content in a layered PDF document using the Select tool or the Snapshot tool. You can edit content using a touch-up tool. These tools recognize and select any content that is visible, regardless of whether the content is on a selected layer.

If the content that you edit or delete is associated with one layer, the content of the layer reflects the change. If the content that you edit or delete is associated with more than one layer, the content in all the layers reflects the change. For example, if you want to change a title and byline that appear on the same line on the first page of a document, and the title and byline are on two different visible layers, editing the content on one layer changes the content on both layers.

You can add content, such as review comments, stamps, or form fields, to layered documents just as you would to any other PDF document. However, the content is not added to a specific layer, even if that layer is selected when the content is added. Rather, the content is added to the entire document.

You can use the Create PDF From Multiple Files command to combine Adobe PDF documents that contain layers. The layers for each document are grouped under a separate heading in the Layers panel of the navigation pane. You expand and collapse the group by clicking the icon in the title bar for the group.

Source - Adobe

Thursday, June 17, 2010

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Merge or flatten layers

Merged layers acquire the properties of the layer into which they are merged (the target layer). Flattening PDF layers hides any content that is not visible when the flattening operation is executed and consolidates all layers.

Important: You cannot undo either a merging or a flattening operation.

Merge layers

  1. Click the Layers button, and select Merge Layers from the Options menu.
  2. In the left pane (Layers To Be Merged), select one or more layers to be merged. Ctrl/Command-click to select multiple layers, and click Add. Click Add All to merge all layers.
  3. To remove a layer from the center panel, select the layer or layers. Ctrl/Command-click to select multiple layers. When your selection is complete, click Remove.
  4. In the right pane (Layer To Be Merged Into), select the layer into which to merge the selected layers, and click OK.

Flatten layers

Click the Layers button, and select Flatten Layers from the Options menu.

Source:Adobe

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Add layer navigation

You can add links and destinations to layers, allowing you to change the view of a document when the user clicks a bookmark or link.

Note: In general, changes to layer visibility made using the eye icon in the Layers panel are not recorded in the Navigation toolbar.

Associate layer visibility with bookmarks

  1. Set the required layer properties, visibility, and magnification level for the target PDF layer in the document pane.
  2. Click the Bookmarks button, and choose New Bookmark from the Options menu.
  3. Select the new bookmark, and choose Properties from the Options menu.
  4. In the Bookmark Properties dialog box, click the Actions tab.
  5. For Select Action, choose Set Layer Visibility, click Add, and then click OK.
  6. Select the bookmark label in the Bookmarks panel, and name the bookmark.

Associate layer visibility with a link destination

  1. Set the required layer properties for the destination in the document pane.
  2. Choose View > Navigation Panels > Destinations.

    The Destination panel appears in a floating panel. You can add it to the other panels by dragging it to the navigation pane. If the panel is collapsed, click the Destinations button to expand it.

  3. Click the Create New Destination button or select New Destination from the Options menu, and name the destination.
  4. Select the Link tool , and drag in the document pane to create a link. (Because content is added to all layers, it doesn’t matter that you are apparently creating the link on the target layer. The link works from any layer.)
  5. In the Create Link dialog box, select Custom Link and click Next.
  6. Click the Appearance tab in the Link Properties dialog box, and set the appearance of the link.
  7. Click the Actions tab in the Link Properties dialog box, choose Set Layer Visibility, and click Add.
  8. Close the dialog boxes.

    You can test the link by changing the layer settings, selecting the Hand tool, and clicking the link.
Source: Adobe

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Edit layer properties

You can combine the default state setting, the visibility setting, and the print setting to control when a layer is visible and when it prints. If a layer contains a watermark, for example, you may want the layer to not show on-screen but always to print and always to export to other applications. In this case you can set the default state to on, the initial visibility to never visible (the image doesn’t show on-screen), and the initial print and initial export states to always print and always export. The layer need not be listed in the Layers panel, since all the state changes are handled automatically.

Note: The settings in the Layer Properties dialog box take effect only if Allow Layer State To Be Set By User Information is selected in the Documents preferences. If it is not selected, Layer Properties dialog box settings, other than Layer Name and Default State, are ignored.
  1. Click the Layers button in the navigation pane.
  2. Select a layer, and choose Layer Properties from the Options menu.
  3. In the Layer Properties dialog box, edit the layer name or any of the following properties, and then click OK:
    Option


    Description
    Default State


    Defines the initial visibility state of the layer when a document is first opened or when the initial visibility is reset. The eye icons for layers are initially shown or hidden based on this value. For example, if this value is set to off, the eye icon for a layer is hidden when the document is first opened or when Reset To Initial Visibility is chosen from the Options menu.

    Intent


    Select View to allow the layer to be turned on or off, or select Reference to keep the layer on at all times and permit editing of the properties. When the Reference Intent option is selected, the layer appears in italics.

    Visibility


    Defines the on-screen visibility of the PDF layer. You can show a layer when the document is opened, you can hide a layer when the document is opened, or you can let the default state determine whether a layer is shown or hidden when the document is opened.

    Print


    Determines whether a layer will print.

    Export


    Determines whether the layer appears in the resulting document when the PDF file is exported to an application or file format that supports layers.

    Any additional properties that the creator of the layered PDF has associated with a specific layer are shown in the box at the bottom of the Layer Properties dialog box.

Source: Adobe