Thursday, February 26, 2009

How to find PostScript font names using express and easy method

If you need to enter a font name manually on the Fonts panel of the Adobe PDF Settings dialog box, you can use a PDF to find the exact spelling of the name.

  1. Use any application to create a one-page document with the font.
  2. Create a PDF from the document.
  3. Open the PDF in Acrobat, and choose File > Document Properties > Fonts.
  4. Write down the name of the font, using the exact spelling, capitalization, and hyphenation of the name as it appears in the Font Info dialog box.
Facebook link:
Http://tinyurl.com/elsontan

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Preview PDFs without local fonts installed

You can create a printable preview of your document that substitutes default fonts for any text formatted in fonts that are available on your local machine but are not embedded in the PDF. This can help you decide whether or not to embed those local fonts in the PDF, to achieve the look you want for your document.

  1. In Acrobat, choose Edit > Preferences (Windows) or Acrobat 8 > Preferences (Mac OS.
  2. Under Categories, select Page Display, and then deselect Use Local Fonts.
    Note:
    If a font cannot be substituted, the text appears as bullets, and Acrobat displays an error message.
Facebook link:
Http://tinyurl.com/elsontan

Thursday, February 5, 2009

Accessing and embedding fonts using Distiller

When converting a PostScript file to PDF, Distiller needs access to the file’s fonts to insert the appropriate information in the PDF. Distiller first searches the PostScript file for Type 1, TrueType, and OpenType fonts. If the font isn’t embedded in the PostScript file, Distiller searches additional font folders.

Distiller searches the following font folders in Windows:

  • /Resource/Font in the Acrobat folder

  • /Windows/Fonts

Distiller searches the following font folders in Mac OS:

  • /Resource/Font in the Acrobat folder

  • /Users/[user name]/Library/Fonts

  • /Library/Fonts

  • /System/Library/Fonts

    The Acrobat installation includes width-only versions of many common Chinese, Japanese, and Korean fonts, therefore Distiller can then access these fonts in Acrobat. Make sure that the fonts are available on your computer. (In Windows, choose Complete when you install Acrobat, or choose Custom and select the Asian Language Support option. In Mac OS, these fonts are installed automatically.)

Note: Distiller does not support Type 32 fonts.

Facebook link:
Http://tinyurl.com/elsontan

Thursday, January 29, 2009

Enable fast web view in a PDF

Fast Web View restructures a PDF document for page-at-a-time downloading (byte-serving) from web servers. With Fast Web View, the web server sends only the requested page, rather than the entire PDF. This is especially important with large documents that can take a long time to download from a server.

Check with your web master to make sure that the web server software you use supports page-at-a-time downloading.To ensure that the PDF documents on your website appear in older browsers, you may also want to create HTML links (versus ASP scripts or the POST method) to the PDF documents and use relatively short path names (256 characters or fewer).

Verify the Fast Web View Preferences setting

Follow this procedure to make sure that you have Acrobat set up to enable Fast Web View during the PDF creation process.

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences (Windows) or Acrobat > Preferences (Mac OS).
  2. Under Categories, select Documents.
  3. On the right side of the dialog box, under Save Settings, make sure that Save As Optimizes For Fast Web View is selected, or select it now, and click OK.
Enable Fast Web View for an existing PDF

Use this procedure after you have verified your Fast Web View Preferences setting and checked the PDF properties to be sure that the file is not already enabled for Fast Web View.

  1. Open the PDF that you want to have Fast Web View.
  2. Choose File > Save As. Select the same filename and location.
  3. When a message appears asking if you want to overwrite the existing file, click OK.

Facebook link:
Http://tinyurl.com/elsontan

Sunday, January 18, 2009

Correct OCR text in PDFs

When you scan to Formatted Text & Graphics output, Acrobat analyzes bitmaps of text and substitutes words and characters for those bitmap areas. If the ideal substitution is uncertain, Acrobat marks the word as suspect. Suspects appear in the PDF as the original bitmap of the word, but the text is included on an invisible layer behind the bitmap of the word. This makes the word searchable even though it is displayed as a bitmap. You can accept these suspects as they are, or you can use the TouchUp Text tool to correct them.
Note: If you try to select text in a scanned PDF that does not have OCR applied, or try to perform a Read Out Loud operation on an image file, Acrobat asks if you want to run OCR. If you click OK, the Recognize Text dialog box opens and you can select options, which are described in detail under the previous topic.
  1. Do one of the following:
    • Choose Document > OCR Text Recognition > Find All OCR Suspects. All suspect words on the page are enclosed in boxes. Click any suspect word to show the suspect text in the Find Element dialog box.

    • Choose Document > OCR Text Recognition > Find First OCR Suspect.

      Note: If you close the Find Element window before correcting all suspect words, you can return to the process by choosing Document > OCR Text Recognition > Find First OCR Suspect, or by clicking any suspect word with the TouchUp Text tool.
  2. In the Find option, choose OCR Suspects.
  3. Compare the word in the Suspect text box with the actual word in the scanned document, and accept, correct, or ignore the word. If the suspect was incorrectly identified as text, click the Not Text button.
  4. Review and correct the remaining suspect words, and then close the Find Element dialog box.
Facebook link:
Http://tinyurl.com/elsontan

Recognize text in scanned documents

You can use Acrobat to recognize text in previously scanned documents that have already been converted to PDF.

  1. Open the scanned PDF.
  2. Choose Document > OCR Text Recognition > Recognize Text Using OCR.
  3. In the Recognize Text dialog box, select an option under Pages.
  4. (Optional) Click Edit to open the Recognize Text - Settings dialog box, and select the options you want to use.

Sunday, January 11, 2009

Scan a paper document to PDF

You can create a PDF file directly from a paper document, starting within Acrobat and using your scanner. In Windows XP, Acrobat supports TWAIN scanner drivers and Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) drivers.

Scanning tips
  • Acrobat scanning accepts images between 10 and 3000 ppi. If you select Searchable Image or Full Text & Graphics for PDF Output Style, input resolution of 72 ppi or higher is required, and input resolution higher than 600 ppi is downsampled to 600 ppi or lower.

  • On the Color/Grayscale menu in the Optimization Options dialog box, apply lossless compression to a scanned image by choosing CCITT for black-and-white images or Lossless for color or grayscale images. If this image is appended to a PDF document, and the file is saved by Save, the scanned image remains uncompressed. If the PDF document is saved using Save As, the scanned image may be compressed.

  • For most pages, black-and-white scanning at 300 ppi produces text best suited for conversion. At 150 ppi, OCR accuracy is slightly lower, and more font-recognition errors occur; at 400 ppi and higher resolution, processing slows and compressed pages are bigger. If a page has many unrecognized words or very small text (9 points or smaller), try scanning at higher resolution. Scan in black and white whenever possible.

  • When Recognize Text Using OCR is disabled, full 10-to-3000 ppi resolution range may be used, but the recommended resolution is 72 and higher ppi. For Adaptive compression, 300 ppi is recommended for grayscale or RGB input, or 600 ppi for black-and-white input.

  • Pages scanned in 24-bit color, 300 ppi, at 8-1/2–by-11 inches (21.59-by-27.94 cm) result in large images (25 MB) prior to compression. Your system may require 50 MB of virtual memory or more to scan the image. At 600 ppi, both scanning and processing typically are about four times slower than at 300 ppi.

  • Avoid dithering or halftone scanner settings. These can improve the appearance of photographs, but they make it difficult to recognize text.

  • For text printed on colored paper, try increasing the brightness and contrast by about 10%. If your scanner has color-filtering capability, consider using a filter or lamp that drops out the background color. Or if the text is not crisp drops out, try adjusting scanner contrast and brightness to clarify the scan.

  • If your scanner has a manual brightness control, adjust it so that characters are clean and well formed. If characters are touching, use a higher (brighter) setting. If characters are separated, use a lower (darker) setting.

Facebook link:
Http://tinyurl.com/elsontan