Sunday, May 2, 2010

Create and view document properties

View document properties
When you view a PDF, you can get information about it, such as the title, the fonts used, and security settings. Some of this information is set by the person who created the document, and some is generated automatically.

You can change any information that can be set by the document creator, unless the file has been saved with security settings that prevent changes.

  1. Choose File > Properties.
  2. Click a tab in the Document Properties dialog box.
Create document properties
You can add custom document properties that store specific types of metadata, such as the version number or company name, in a PDF. Properties you create appear in the Document Properties dialog box. Properties you create must have unique names that do not appear on the other tabs in the Document Properties dialog box.
  1. Choose File > Properties, and then select Custom.
  2. To add a property, type the name and value, and then click Add.
  3. To change the properties, do any of the following, and then click OK:
    • To edit a property, select it, change the Value, and then click Change.

    • To delete a property, select it and click Delete.

    To change the name of a custom property, delete the property and create a new custom property with the name you want.

Source: Adobe

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Advanced PDF Technology

Delivering better ways of connecting people, ideas and information.
Click to join...

Thursday, March 18, 2010

Add page transitions

You can create an interesting effect that occurs each time a page advances by using page transitions.

You can also set page transitions for a group of documents using the Batch Processing command.

  1. Do one of the following:
    • Choose Advanced > Document Processing > Page Transitions.

    • In the Pages panel, select the page thumbnails you want to apply transitions to, and choose Page Transitions from the Options menu.

  2. In the Set Transitions dialog box, choose a transition effect from the Transition menu. These transition effects are the same as those set in the Full Screen preferences.
  3. Choose the direction in which the transition effect occurs. Available options depend on the transition.
  4. Choose the speed of the transition effect.
  5. Select Auto Flip, and enter the number of seconds between automatic page turning. If you do not select this option, the user turns pages using keyboard commands or the mouse.
  6. Select the Page Range you want to apply transitions to.
    Note: If users select Ignore All Transitions in the Full Screen preferences, they do not see the page transitions.
Source: Adobe

Monday, March 8, 2010

Defining initial view as Full Screen mode for Presentation

Full Screen mode is a property you can set for PDFs used for presentations. In Full Screen mode, PDF pages fill the entire screen, and the Acrobat menu bar, toolbar, and window controls are hidden. You can also set other opening views, so that your documents or collections of documents open to a consistent view. In either case, you can add page transitions to enhance the visual effect as the viewer pages through the document.

To control how you navigate a PDF (for example, advancing pages automatically), use the options in the Full Screen preferences. These preferences are specific to a system—not a PDF document—and affect all PDFs that you open on that system. Therefore, if you set up your presentation on a system you control, you can control these preferences. To set the Full Screen preferences, choose Edit > Preferences (Windows) or Acrobat > Preferences (Mac OS) and select Full Screen on the left.

Source: Adobe

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Start an image editor using the TouchUp Object tool

By default, the TouchUp Object tool starts Adobe Photoshop (if installed) to edit images and objects. To use a different editing application, specify the application in the TouchUp preferences. Choose Edit > Preferences (Windows) or Acrobat > Preferences (Mac OS), and select TouchUp on the left side of the Preferences dialog box. Click Image Editor (for bitmap images) or Page/Object Editor, (for vector images) and select the application on your hard drive.

  1. Using the TouchUp Object tool, select the image or object or Shift-click to select multiple images or objects. If you change the object selection, the editing session terminates.
    To edit all the images and objects on the page, right-click/Control-click the page, and choose Edit Page.
  2. Right-click/Control-click the selection, and choose Edit Image or Edit Object. (The available command depends on what is selected.)
    Note: If the image can’t open in Adobe Photoshop, verify that Photoshop is configured correctly. If a message asks whether to convert to ICC profiles, choose Don’t Convert. If the image window displays a checkerboard pattern when it opens, the image data could not be read.
  3. Make the desired changes in the external editing application.
  4. If you are working in Photoshop, flatten the image.

    If you change the dimensions of the image in Photoshop, the image may not align correctly in the PDF. Also, transparency information is preserved only for masks that are specified as index values in an indexed color space. Image masks are not supported. If you change image modes while editing the image, you may lose valuable information that can be applied only in the original mode.

  5. In the editing application, choose File > Save. The object is automatically updated and displayed in the PDF when you bring Acrobat to the foreground.

    Important:
    For Photoshop, if the image is in a format supported by Photoshop 6.0 or later, your edited image is saved back into the PDF. However, if the image is in an unsupported format, Photoshop handles the image as a generic PDF image, and the edited image is saved to disk instead of back into the PDF.
Source: Adobe

Friday, February 12, 2010

Edit an object using the TouchUp Object tool

  1. Choose Tools > Advanced Editing > TouchUp Object tool.
  2. Select the object, right-click/Control-click the selection, and choose one of the following:
    Option Description
    Place Image

    Embeds an image file in the PDF.

    Set Clip

    Sets a clipping region for the object, if one exists.

    Delete Clip

    Delete Clip deletes objects that are clipping the selected object. For example, if you scale text and the resulting characters are clipped, selecting this option shows you the complete characters. This option appears only if you chose Set Clip.

    Flip Horizontal, Flip Vertical

    Flip Horizontal flips the image horizontally, on the vertical axis. Flipping text blocks horizontally creates a mirror effect. Flip Vertical flips the image vertically, on the horizontal axis.

    Create Artifact

    Removes the object from the reading order so it isn’t read by a screen reader or the Read Out Loud command.

    Edit Image, Edit Object

    Starts the image editor or object editor you specify in the TouchUp preferences. Edit Image is available when a vector image is selected; Edit Object is available when a bitmap image is selected. Selecting these options removes tags from the PDF which may change how the PDF reflows and affect accessibility. For example, changing the location of an object affects the order in which that object (or its alternate text) is read by a screen reader.

    Rotate Clockwise, Rotate Counterclockwise, Rotate Selection

    Rotate Clockwise and Rotate Counterclockwise rotate the selected object ninety degrees in the indicated direction. Rotate Selection lets you rotate the selection incrementally by dragging a selection handle in the direction you choose. You must click inside the selection to exit the rotate mode.

    TouchUp Properties

    Lets you edit properties for the content, tag, and text, such as adding alternate text to an image to make it accessible.